Thursday, September 9, 2021

Citizens Information has moved to 0818 prefix

  Citizens Information has moved to 0818 prefix

This news item was posted on September 8, 2021

The Citizens Information Board and its funded services have now moved to the 0818 prefix for all its telephone numbers.

Following a ComReg review and consultation, the number of Non-Geographic Numbers (NGNs) has been reduced from five to two. Only the 1800 Freephone and 0818 Standard Rate NGNs will remain in use. All other numbers will cease to operate from 1 January 2022.

Will calls to 0818 cost more?

Calls to 0818 will cost the same as to the previous 0761 numbers. Calls to 0818 are included in call bundles or will cost no more than calling a landline.

Helpline numbers

The national helpline numbers with the new prefix are:

§  The Citizens Information Phone Service is 0818 07 4000

§  The Money Advice and Budgeting Service is 0818 07 2000

§  The National Advocacy Service is 0818 07 3000

For a listing of all local service numbers, check out or The details of regional NAS offices can be found at

The old 0761 numbers will remain operational in tandem with 0818 until 31 December 2021. However, from 1 January 2022, only the 0818 numbers will connect you to the relevant service.



Know Your Rights has been compiled by South Connacht Citizens Information Service CLG, which provides a free and confidential service to the public.

Tel: 0761 07 6330 Address: Boyle CIC, Elphin Street, Boyle, Co. Roscommon

Information is also available online at and from the Citizens Information Phone Service, 0761 07 4000.


No comments:

Post a Comment